ICC World Cup: The Much Anticipated Event Of The Year

Posted by

A Synopsis of the Cricket World Cup 2023 by the International Cricket Council

International cricket competition known as the ICC Cricket World Cup is held every four years. Here is a synopsis of the Cricket World Cup’s history:

1975: The Beginning

  • England hosted the first-ever Cricket World Cup in 1975.
  • There were eight teams in the competition: East Africa (a grouping of players from Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia), England, Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, India, and New Zealand.
  • After defeating Australia in the championship match, the West Indies won.

India’s historic victory occurred in 1983 at the Cricket World Cup, which was played in England. India became the first country to win the tournament.

  • Kapil Dev’s India defeated the West Indies in the championship match.

India’s second victory in 2011 

  • Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and India served as co-hosts of the 2011 Cricket World Cup.
  • MS Dhoni led the team. India won their second World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka in the championship match.

2019: England Wins First World Cup England and Wales hosted the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

  • England defeated New Zealand in a thrilling World Cup final that was decided by a Super Over after the scores were level.

Location of the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, an ODI cricket competition held every four years between men’s national teams and hosted by the International Cricket Council (ICC), will take place in 2023. From October 5 to November 19, 2023, India is slated to host it. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was originally supposed to take place from February to March 2023.

The competition will include ten teams, including England, the reigning champions from 2019. India will be the only nation to host the men’s Cricket World Cup; before, the event was co-hosted by other nations in the Indian subcontinent in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

On November 19, 2023, the championship game is slated to take place at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. The semifinal matches will be held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The cities chosen

There will be 48 matches scheduled for the ICC World Cup 2023 in India. The stadium and city names where the cricket matches will be played are listed in the table below.

  • Wankhade, Mumbai
  • Edens Garden, Kolkata
  • Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
  • M Chinnaswami, Bangalore 
  • MA Chidambaram, Chennai
  • PCA Stadium Mohali
  • Stadium Sardar Patel, Gujarat
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
  • MCA Stadium, Pune
  • VCA Stadium, Nagpur
  • Green Park Stadium, Kanpur
  • SCA Stadium, Rajkot 
  • Gandhi Stadium, Guwahati (Assam)

Teams competing in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup and its format

The ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023 should have 10 teams, just like it did in 2019. Similar to the 1992 and 2019 cricket world cups, each team will play the other teams in a round-robin (randomly picked team) format. The top two teams from a semi-final between four teams will advance to the final.

Groups of teams:

  • India
  • Australia
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh 
  • England
  • Pakistan
  • S. Africa
  • In New Zealand
  • Srilanka
  • Netherland
  • the last two teams chosen from the 2023 World Cup qualifiers 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *